Wifi Set Up in Ubuntu 9.10

A while ago I started using Ubuntu 9.10 as my secondary operating system on my laptop. I’ve actually been interested in Ubuntu since 3 years ago, but it’s never been this intense. I even tried several other Linux OS, either KDE or Gnome. Though, I keep coming back to Ubuntu.

I started using Ubuntu 9.10 by upgrading from Ubuntu 8.04. The reason I did this, instead of directly jump up to 9.10, was that when I tried installing it with my downloaded Ubuntu 9.10 from the internet, it failed every time I did (and I surely did it lots of time). Then, I finally requested an Ubuntu 9.10 CD to be sent over to my place and after around 2 weeks, it finally arrived.

When I was still using my previous Ubuntu 9.10 from the internet, I couldn’t get the wifi setting right. I was quite desperate until today that I finally tried something audacious, that is to remove it and re-install it with the CD I received from Ubuntu.

Having newly installed, I directly tried the answer that I had searched before over the internet on how to set up wifi connection in Ubuntu. Here are the steps:

1. Go under System, click on Administration

2. Choose Hardware Drivers (it instantly looks for available drivers)

3. On Hardware Drivers window, select “Broadcom B43 wireless driver” and see if it’s already activated. If it’s not, click Activate. It will start downloading and installing the driver.

Once this done, you’ll be able to see the available wireless connections under the Connection icon (the one that looks like 2 pieces of wire connected) on the right hand side of your monitor.

Now, it’s that easy. Though, it wasn’t a pleasant process I went through. So, here is what I picked up along the way:

1. In order to detect available wireless connections, make sure the necessary drivers is installed and working properly.

2. There are several other ways to get round the problem, such as installing Ndiswrapper which you can follow from https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/Ndiswrapper. Though, I really have to say that it’s not fun at all. There are too many rooms for error.

That’s all for now. I really hope you can benefit most from it.

PS: FYI, my laptop is HP Pavilion tx1000 and using Broadcom B4312 wireless card.

~ by Rod on January 8, 2010.

One Response to “Wifi Set Up in Ubuntu 9.10”

  1. Nice info. I would try on my ubuntu, because my wifi is problem

Leave a Reply

 
